Kinship Care ‘Shared Learning’ Visit by Dr Lucy Peake of Grandparents Plus

We’re just a few weeks away from welcoming to Australia Dr Lucy Peake, CEO of Grandparents Plus, a national charity in the UK that focuses on supporting all kinship carers, for a ‘shared learning’ tour.

Dr Peake will participate in forums and workshops around the country, where she will not only share her own experience in raising awareness, influencing strategy and delivering evidence-based approaches to supporting kinship carers, but also learn about local approaches and challenges in this critical area of care.

Tour dates have now been finalised and are listed below. Invitations are being sent out, however if you’re keen to attend and haven’t yet received anything, please contact the principal organiser in your state or territory for more information.

Date

Location

Contact

Monday
26th August
Hobart, TAS
Geraldine Ellis-Maguire at FACT:
geraldine@fact.asn.au

 

Wednesday
28th August
Melbourne, VIC
Emma Fenby at Centre for Excellence in Child and Family Welfare Inc:
emma.fenby@cfecfw.asn.au

 

Friday
30th  August
Adelaide, SA
Rob Martin at Child and Family Focus SA:
rob@childandfamily-sa.org.au

 

Monday
2nd  September
Brisbane, QLD
Annika Stehn at PeakCare:
astehn@peakcare.org.au

 

Thursday
5th  September
Perth, WA
Tricia Murray at Wanslea:
tmurray@wanslea.asn.au

 

Monday
9th September
Sydney, NSW
Sharon Broady at ACWA:
sharon@acwa.asn.au
Save the Date Flyer

 

Dr Peake is also confirmed to run joint workshop presentations with Dr Meredith Kiraly (University of Melbourne) at both the National Foster and Kinship Care Conference in Perth (September 5-7), and the Australian Social Policy Conference at UNSW in Sydney (September 9-11).

If you would like information about any aspect of this tour, please contact Sharon Broady via sharon@acwa.asn.au, or call 02 9281 8822 Ext 224.

 

Dr Lucy Peake